Diane Davis Beacon Award

Each year an elite Circle of Honor grows through the addition of one of PRSA Boston’s most accomplished and generous public relations practitioners or academics. The Diane Davis Beacon Award recognizes a PRSA Boston member for his or her example of exhibiting the highest qualities of leadership, generous service, unimpeachable ethics and professional achievement.

The individual stories of the Diane Davis Circle of Honor recipients encompass decades of robust contributions in the areas of career mentoring for future generations of PR practitioners; professional ambassadorship; noteworthy achievements; and exemplary service to the PRSA Boston community that cumulatively transcend years and positions.


  • Loring Barnes, APR, Fellow PRSA – 2021
  • Diane Pardes, APR – 2020
  • Kelley Chunn – 2019
  • Nancy Sterling, APR, Fellow PRSA- 2018
  • Darlene Hollywood – 2017
  • Mark McClennan -APR, Fellow PRSA-  2016
  • Hank Shafran – 2016
  • Julie Dennehy, APR – 2015
  • Jack Jackson – 2014
  • Vic Beck, Rear Admiral, USN (Ret.) – 2013
  • Peter Morrissey, APR – 2012
  • Larry Weber – 2011
  • Professor Steve Quigley, APR – 2010
  • Barbara Wellnitz, APR, Fellow PRSA – 2009
  • Ann Getman, APR – 2008
  • Professor Kirk Hazlett, APR, Fellow PRSA – 2007
  • Pat Pollino, APR, Fellow PRSA – 2006
  • Barry Wanger, APR, Fellow PRSA – 2005
  • Professor Otto Lerbinger, Ph.D., APR, Fellow PRSA – 2004

Nomination Instructions, Eligibility + 2021 Deadline

  • Recipient Eligibility: Nominees must be members in good standing of PRSA Boston. They can be a past nominee who has not yet received this award.
  • Nominators: Any active member of PRSA Boston can submit nominations for this award, including self-nominations. The name of the Submitter is redacted from the form prior to judging to keep the focus on the Nominee’s story.
  • Deadline: October 11, 2022
  • Liability: PRSA Boston cannot be held responsible for technical difficulties that impede or prevent the electronic submission. We encourage you to confirm receipt by email.
  • Ownership: Content of the submission becomes the property of PRSA Boston and may be used for publicity.
  • Judging: Accredited members of the PRSA Boston Chapter by closed ballot.


Questions to 2021 Awards Chair: Josh Gitelson, APR at joshg1068@gmail.com


Submit Your Nomination

If you are, or know, a standout contributor, we hope you will submit a nomination!

Apply Here

Meet the 2021 Diane Davis Beacon Award Honoree: Loring Barnes, APR

Loring Barnes, APR, Fellow PRSA: Chapter PRSA Delegate

PRSA Boston has named Loring Barnes APR, PRSA Fellow, recipient of the 2021 Diane Davis Beacon Award which salutes Boston’s most accomplished public relations practitioners, recognizing them for their leadership, dedication to the field, achievements, service and contributions to the community.

Loring has contributed to PRSA on many levels – as Boston chapter president, and as co-chair of the Northeast District Conference, which she rebranded as PRXNE in 2016. In addition, she recommended that the chapter’s diversity equity and inclusion position be elevated to Board level. Seeking guidance from national and other regional chapters, Loring ensured that the topic would be added to the PRSA Boston Board meeting agenda where it was quickly adopted.

Barnes is Principal at Clarity Communications Group, which provides writing and growth marketing strategy to entrepreneurs, social impact partnering, talent recruitment and crisis rebound counsel. She has led communications programs for diverse innovation sectors and policy leaders since the mid-80s, contributing to successful growth outcomes, turnarounds, and acquisitions. Her multilingual transit campaign for the MBTA’s debut of commuter rail service to Gillette Stadium for World Cup brought the US Olympic Organizing Committee to Boston. She has also worked with: Big Four consulting firms, McDonald’s, acquisitions to Accenture, NASDAQ and AngioDynamics, Wiley, Chrysler, Dr. Pepper, Frito-Lay, Marriott, Miller Brewing Co. and HealthLeads USA.

A guest lecturer at colleges across the Northeast, Barnes has served on boards for Hospitality HomesLast Hope K9PR Club and the University of Massachusetts at Amherst Alumni Association, her alma mater, which named her an “Alumnae to Watch” for its 125th anniversary. In 2017, she was inducted into PRSA’s national honorary College of Fellows , known as the profession’s highest recognition of communications excellence, ethics, service, and leadership.

In addition to her professional achievements in PR, Loring is an outstanding mentor, lifting a hand to bring up those behind her. She is strong but also empathetic to all, from students and vendors to Fortune 50 CEOs and clients in crises. Her intelligence, kindness and conscientious approach are outstanding examples of her leadership skills, but she is best known to be the person in the room whom you can count on to be there and go “above and beyond” every single time. She brings energy and enthusiasm to every task, raising the bar for others and leading by example.